Tuomas Holopainen

A few items revealed in a recent interview to a French magazine:

Tuomas has finished or is about to finish writing a book which should be ready in a year or so. I'm crossing fingers for an autobiography, although it's probably not one. But I suppose there's a little insight into Tuomas' in every one of his works.

Also, the new Auri album should be ready in about 2 months (not sure when exactly the interview was made though).

• 2 months later...

Just for fun, here's a short bio from the official NW web site, back in 1999.

Name: Tuomas Holopainen
Date of birth: 25.12.1976
Place of residence: Kitee

E-mail: tuomas@nightwish.com
Hobbies: Music, movies, hiking and collecting Disney stuff.
Musical background: I started playing piano when I was eight. At the age of nine I started playing clarinet and to study music theory in college of music from where I also got a diploma. I’ve played saxophone in a jazz band and a clarinet in a brass band. Keyboards have been my instrument since the age of 16 and I have played in various bands, for example Nattvindens Gråt. I still play as a session musician in Darkwoods My Betrothed and Furthest Shore.

Favorite...
food: Freshly-baked rye bread.
Favorite drink: Coffey.
movies: Braveheart, Dances with the wolves and T2.
director: Steven Spielberg
tv-program: MacGyver
actor/actress: Morgan Freeman
book: Lord Of The Rings
author: J.R.R Tolkien
music: From the "heavy" section, Rhapsody, 3rd And The Mortal and My Dying Bride. From the "floating" section, Kitaro, Vangelis and Enya.
album: Kitaro : Kojiki
song: H. blake : Walking In The Air
season: Winter

Our best gig: Tammerfest 7.7.99
Best gig you have seen: Metallica/Guns'n Roses in Kansas City in autumn '92
Worst nightmare:  Everything that has something to do with spiders.
Place you'd like to go: Africa
Life philosophy: The Road Goes Ever On

Instruments: Different models of Korg.

• 4 months later...