Tarja Turunen

Fugazi

• 3 months later...

Just for fun, here's a short bio from the official NW web site, back in 1999.

Name: Tarja Turunen
Date of birth: 17.08.1977
Place of residence: Kuopio

E-mail: tarja@nightwish.com
Hobbies: Music is both my work and my hobby.
Musical background: I started singing with the help of my teacher and taking private piano lessons when I was in lower grades of the basic school. When I was in the upper grades of the basic school I started playing flute in a college of music. After the upper grades I started music high school in Savonlinna with classical singing and music theater as my major. Then I went to Sibelius-akademy to study church music. At the moment I’m specializing in classical singing.

Favorite...
food: Pepper steak and potatoes with garlic.
drink: Medium dry white wine.
movie: Mr. Bean
music: Bhrams, Celine Dion

director: Steven Spielberg
tv-program: Tv-Shop
actor/actress: Spike (Notting Hill)
book: RT
author: M. Waltari
band: It's hard to name the best one. There's a lot of good bands.
album: Oceanborn
song: Bhrams: Von eviger liebe
season: spring.

Our best gig: Provinssirock '99
Best gig you have seen: Timo Mustakallio '98
Worst nightmare: That I wake up in the morning being mute!
Place you'd like to go: Exotic, small island somewhere far, far away. No turism, no finns. Only silence.
Life philosophy: Smile : )

• 3 months later...

Tarja has been invited to this quirky Finnish TV show called Seagull's Nest, about a band of musicians building a tree house and inviting more musicians for playing stuff together (or at least this is my understanding of it). Presumably the show will be available on YouTube later.

• Metal 1

This is interesting news for Tarja fans, and perhaps there will be something for NW fans in general as well: a photo-biography.

tarjabooks.png.70e2b966fa4a2ce23e08188d79266ccb.png

"Tarja tells her story of making music, with rare and unseen photographs.