Jump to content
Century Child turns 22! ×

Decades (compilation, 2018)


Recommended Posts

Decades: An Archive Of Song 1996-2015 (compilation, 2018)


Material arranged chronologically backwards from EMFB to the band formation. No new material on this compilation, but everything has been skilfully remastered and the result is worth the effort. The Nightwish demo has been released previously as a bonus track on reissues of "Angels Fall First".


Track list (with relevant threads when available)

Disc 1:

  1. The Greatest Show On Earth (EMFB, 2015)
  2. Élan (EMFB, 2015)
  3. My Walden (EMFB, 2015)
  4. Storytime (IRUM, 2011)
  5. I Want My Tears Back (IRUM, 2011)
  6. Amaranth (DPP, 2007)
  7. The Poet And The Pendulum (DPP, 2007)
  8. Nemo (ONCE, 2004)
  9. Wish I Had An Angel (ONCE, 2004)

Disc 2:

  1. Ghost Love Score (ONCE, 2004)
  2. Slaying The Dreamer (CC, 2002)
  3. End Of All Hope (CC, 2002)
  4. 10th Man Down (OTHAFA, 2001)
  5. The Kinslayer (WM, 2000)
  6. Dead's Boy Poem (WM, 2000)
  7. Gethsemane (OB, 1998)
  8. Devil and The Deep Dark Ocean (OB, 1998)
  9. Sacrament Of Wilderness (OB, 1998)
  10. Sleeping Sun (single, 1999)
  11. Elvenpath (AFF, 1997)
  12. The Carpenter (AFF, 1997)
  13. Nightwish (demo, 1996)


From the band:

(Nuclear Blast)

"Let's be honest; it does not take any overstated words to present this exceptional band to the world out there, for they are the undisputed pioneers of symphonic metal and the icons of a whole genre. Their virtuosity is consummate perfection, their inspiration lived passion! NIGHTWISH truly understand how to captivate and enchant within seconds. Since the beginning of their career, which started on a mild summer night in July 1996, they have been regarded as the epitome of the most demanding, compositional music art and innovative sound ventures. When creative mind Tuomas Holopainen was sitting around the campfire with friends on a small island in the middle of the tranquil Lake Pyhäjärvi in Kitee and improvising a bit, he probably could not have guessed where this journey would take him.

Meanwhile, more than 20 years have passed and the visions of the ambitious musician have long been an impressive reality, manifesting themselves on eight fantastic studio albums. With NIGHTWISH, the Finnish songwriter is able to create breath-taking sound cascades with cinematic imagery, combining epic bombast with opulent metal attitudes in beautiful melodic symphonies. NIGHTWISH forged their own style long ago; often imitated, never duplicated! Mastermind Tuomas Holopainen is not just an excellent and unique composer; he is open to new influences and eager to experiment with the unknown. These are some of the key components of success for the band, which was always ahead of its time and not only set new standards with its latest album »Endless Forms Most Beautiful«, but also created a monumental masterpiece. Never before has a band merged the most complex elements of classic, soundtrack and metal so consistently and brought such a powerful result to life.

Now it’s time to take a look back and review the last 20 years in a musical way. In keeping with their upcoming 2018 world tour, NIGHTWISH will release a brilliant best of work called »Decades«, which unites the most important songs of the band on two CDs in their original versions. The Suomi sound makers have always been recognised for their exciting journey of discovery and as a tribute to all that, this release presents a phenomenal cross-section of this formidable career through the lens of their grandiose evolution."


Trailer #1 (Tuomas talks about the song selection): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cvnnJ9JxaWk

Trailer #2 - The Evolution of Nightwish: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=57sdDtnZ4nE

Trailer #3 (Tuomas talks about the song selection again): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T7AT9qsGVtk

Trailer #4 (Tuomas talks about the Decades tour and future plans): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d7efkgZ9L2Q

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Create New...